The School is owned and operated as a not-for-profit Association. The Members of the ISL Association are the parents of the student body (voting) and the professional teaching staff (non-voting). The Association operates under the terms of its bye-laws, and is run by the Board of Governors, which is elected by the parent body.

The Board of Governors

The Board of Governors' overall role is to hire and evaluate the Head of School, oversee the finances of the School and to set policy. The Board is composed of 9 members, who are all parents of current students. A further 2 members may be co-opted. The Head of School is a non-voting, ex-officio member of the Board. The Deputy Head of School, the Primary Principal and the Finance Manager also attend Board meetings in an advisory capacity and there is 1 non-voting teacher representative. Members are elected by the parent association, serve for 3 year terms and may be elected for a second concurrent term. The Board Members appoint, from amongst themselves, the positions of Board Chair, Vice-Chair and Chairs of the Board standing committees including Finance, Policy, Planning, Technology and Human Resources (PPTHR, Marketing and Estates.

The Board holds a mid-year EGM, to discuss the audited accounts of the previous school year, and an end-of-year AGM, to review the budget, set tuition fees for the next school year and elect members of the Board of Governors.

If you wish to attend a Board meeting or are interested in serving as a Board member, please contact the school or the Chairperson directly for more information.

The Board of Governors for school year 2017-18 are as follows
Sven BuchholzBoard Chairperson
Vice-Chair Marketing
Musapenda PhiriBoard Vice Chairperson
Vice Chair Finance
Suhayl DudhiaBoard Member
Chair Finance
Richard DenlyBoard Member
Chair Estates and Projects
Danny HolmesBoard Member
Vice Chair Estates and Projects
Simon FosterBoard Member
Chair Policy, Planning, IT & Human Resources
Oscar Blanco Board Member
Vice Chair Policy, Planning, IT & Human Resources
Samuel MusyokiBoard Member
A. Rajan Pradeep Board Member
Martin PikiraBoard Member
Mark FoxEx-Officio Board Member
Head of School
Sunita NairStaff Attendee
Primary Principal
Craig PattersonStaff Attendee
Secondary Principal
Virginia Machawi-MumbaStaff Attendee
Finance Manager
Karen HedstromStaff Attendee
Staff Representative