IGCSE Assessment

IGCSE is designed to be accessible to students of a wide range of ability. Results are published as grades from A to G and those students who do not reach the required standard receive a U grade and those who do exceptionally well achieve an A*. The final grade a student receives does not completely depend on their performance in the examination. Often there is a compulsory coursework component that has to be completed during the 2 years of study. This is marked by the class teacher and can account for as much as 50% of the final mark.

At the end of the 2 year programme, students are assessed both internally and externally in ways that measure individual performance against stated objectives for each subject.

The Cambridge ICE certificate is a group award designed for schools that want to offer a broad curriculum. Candidates who want to enter sit for a minimum of 7 subjects selected from the 5 IGCSE curriculum groups below. Click on the + icon to view more information.

Group ILanguages
Group IIHumanities and Social Sciences
Group IIISciences
Group IVMathematics
Group VCreative, Technical and Vocational

The Cambridge ICE is awarded to candidates who pass in at least 7 Cambridge IGCSE subjects, including 2 from Group 1 and 1 from each of Groups 2 to 5. The 7th subject may be chosen from any of the subject groups. An important benefit that Cambridge ICE offers is that candidates can demonstrate competence across a wide range of subjects and skills. It carries greater currency in its own right, especially for those who continue with the IB Diploma Programme in years 12 and 13. Candidates who qualify for the Cambridge ICE award will get one of the 3 possible certificates:

DistinctionGrade A or better in five subjects and grade C or better in two subjects
MeritGrade C or better in five subjects and grade F or better in two subjects.
PassGrade G or better in seven subjects.

Internal Assessment

In nearly all subjects, at least some of the assessment is carried out internally by teachers, who mark individual pieces of work produced as part of a course of study. Examples include oral exercises in language subjects, projects, coursework, student portfolios, class presentations, practical laboratory work, mathematical investigations and artistic performances.

External Assessment

The examinations are regulated by Cambridge International Examination Centre. Some assessment tasks are conducted and overseen by teachers, but are then marked/moderated externally by examiners. Examples include practical exams for Languages, ICT, PE, Art, Drama and Music. Because of the greater degree of objectivity and reliability provided by the standard examination environment, externally marked examinations form the greatest share of the assessment for each subject.